“rio-rouge”, 2014-2017 [Série Palette]

Artistic approach

Jaildo Marinho’s work takes its place in the great Brazilian artistic tradition of neo-concretism. Heir to both Mondrian and the concrete art of the thirties, this movement was illustrated from the fifties onwards in the works of Helio Oiticica, Amilcar de Castro and many others…

Interested in the fundamental notion of emptiness, Jaildo Marinho’s abstract works continue to explore its constructive and vital potential. At first glance, this seems paradoxical for an artist whose preferred material is marble, traditionally associated with the idea of mass and weight.

But this is precisely the challenge that Jaildo Marinho has set himself through creations that oscillate between the second and third dimensions. These have in common the use of simple geometric shapes, of a pure whiteness, to which the artist occasionally adds bright colors.

The work of Jaildo Marinho is divided into different series that he declines over the years with a constantly renewed inventiveness.

First appeared the “Diagonal Lines” and the “Oblique Lines” (exact dates), which are rectangular paintings with a hollowed out central area activated by the presence of strings.

Then came the “Saucers”, circular shapes generally made of marble, with a slightly rounded and striated surface. They are assembled along horizontal, vertical or oblique axes, as are also the modules of the series of “Squares” (inaugurated in date), often reduced to their simplest framework with their dematerialized center (their arrangement has sometimes given rise to large monumental panels). The “Shuttles”, inaugurated in date, with their convex surfaces dynamized by circular and colored holes, take all their dimension during their suspension in space.

As part of the heritage of European geometric abstraction and Brazilian neo-concretism, paintings or sculptures, sometimes halfway between the two, Jaildo Marinho’s works draw their formal origins from the landscapes, arts and popular traditions of his native Brazil. This underlying dialogue of the artist with his roots, which testifies to a primarily intuitive and self-taught approach to creation, has become more explicit through the installations “Cristalizaçao” and “Origen”, presented respectively in Brazil in 2017 at the Museum of Modern Art in Rio de Janeiro and in 2018 at the Multiarte gallery in Fortaleza.

“rio-jaune”, 2014-2017 [Série Palette]
Jaildo Marinho

“rio-rouge”, 2014-2017 [Série Palette]

Approche artistique

Le travail de Jaildo Marinho prend sa place dans la grande tradition artistique brésilienne du néo-concrétisme. Héritier à la fois de Mondrian et de l’art concret des années trente, ce mouvement s’est illustré à partir des années cinquante dans les oeuvres de Helio Oiticica, Amilcar de Castro et bien d’autres…

S’intéressant à la notion fondamentale de vide, les œuvres abstraites de Jaildo Marinho ne cessent d’en explorer le potentiel constructif et vital. Cela semble de prime abord paradoxal pour un artiste dont le matériau de prédilection est le marbre, traditionnellement associé à l’idée de masse et de poids.

Mais c’est précisément le défi que s’est lancé Jaildo Marinho à travers des créations qui oscillent entre la deuxième et la troisième dimensions. Celles-ci ont pour point commun le recours à des formes géométriques simples, d’une blancheur épurée, auxquelles l’artiste ajoute ponctuellement des couleurs vives.

L’œuvre de Jaildo Marinho se répartit en différentes séries qu’il décline au fil des ans avec une inventivité sans cesse renouvelée.

Dans un premier temps sont apparues les « Lignes diagonales » et les « Lignes obliques » (dates exactes), qui sont des tableaux de format rectangulaire dont la zone centrale évidée est activée par la présence de cordes.

Suivent à partir de dates les « Soucoupes », formes circulaires généralement exécutées en marbre, à la surface légèrement bombée et striée. Elles sont assemblées suivant des axes horizontaux, verticaux ou obliques, comme également les modules de la série des « Carrés » (inaugurée en date), réduits souvent à leur plus simple ossature avec leur centre dématérialisé (leur ordonnancement a parfois donné naissance à de grands panneaux monumentaux). Les « Navettes », initiées en date, avec leurs surfaces convexes dynamisées par des trouées circulaires et colorés, prennent toute leur dimension lors de leur suspension dans l’espace.

S’inscrivant dans l’héritage de l’abstraction géométrique européenne et du néo-concrétisme brésilien, peintures ou sculptures, parfois à mi-chemin entre les deux, les réalisations de Jaildo Marinho puisent leur origine formelle dans les paysages, les arts et les traditions populaires de son Brésil natal. Ce dialogue sous-jacent de l’artiste avec ses racines, qui témoigne d’une approche avant tout intuitive et autodidacte de la création, est devenu plus explicite à travers les installations « Cristalizaçao » et « Origen », présentées respectivement au Brésil en 2017 au Musée d’Art Moderne de Rio de Janeiro et en 2018 à la galerie Multiarte de Fortaleza.

“rio-jaune”, 2014-2017 [Série Palette]
Jaildo Marinho